Mindy Kaling: Enough Said.

“The only reason I became a doctor is because the guidance counselor told me I couldn’t.”

In context, this was extremely hilarious (see season 4, episode 4). It was also extremely empowering. Of course we should push the limits to what people believe we can do! This is a reason why I appreciate Mindy Kaling. At the Sundance Film Festival (January 2015), Kaling was interviewed on a panel of women who work in Hollywood. Her best comment? “I have a personality defect where I sort of refuse to see myself as an underdog.” This is the mentality that pretty much everyone should have. In her book, Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns), Kaling talks about how she graduated from Dartmouth College (It’s an Ivy League. No biggie.), moved to New York (with very little prospects for work), and ended up making it big. To me, that means that I can do anything. If Kaling can rough it living in a cockroach-infested apartment and end up as an executive producer, there’s no limit to what I can do (or anyone else for that matter). She’s pretty much the bomb.

Plus, she wears great clothes (both as Mindy Kaling and as Mindy Lahiri).

A cool BuzzFeed article that further proves my point: http://www.buzzfeed.com/jarettwieselman/mindy-kaling-shared-a-truly-amazing-secret-to-her-success#.ei0QWE4VP

Youtube video of Power of Story: Serious Ladies at 2015 Sundance Film Festival:

*strong language removed from the quote

Leave a Reply

