3 Telenovelas In English You Must Watch

Binge-watching TV is a real issue in America. With Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime, and other such services at our fingertips, we can’t help but be a culture of TV-lovers. What I love are telenovelas in English.

One time I was walking down the street with my friend (and who knows what I was saying), but she stopped and turned to me. “You could be in a Spanish telenovela,” she said. I gushed in my best accent, “Gracias!” and then mimicking fake crying, “¿Pero cómo puedes hacer este conmigo?” What can I say? I love all things Latino, and I have a flare for the dramatic. (The picture above is of my friend and I—on the very road where she said this to me.)

My sister, knowing these things about me, texted me one day: “You should watch Jane the Virgin. It’s like a Spanish telenovela. You would love it.” Because I may or may not be addicted to TV shows, I binge-watched all 22 episodes in just a couple of weeks. (I know, a couple of weeks isn’t that bad, but I had work and school and other important things to deal with too…so it seemed like a big deal.)

But THEN I had a small crisis. Once I finished the first season, the first three episodes of season 2 were no longer on Hulu. So instead of going the illegal route, I decided to wait until it came out on Netflix so I could binge-watch it. It’s been a hard couple of months. BUT I found a way to fill that void. No, not with a Latino man (but that would be an acceptable void-filler)—but with other telenovela-like shows!

So if you don’t know Spanish (I do, so even if you do know Spanish…) and you love drama and comedy and beautiful people, here are 3 shows that will give you just that:

  1. Jane the Virgin
  2. Devious Maids
  3. Telenovela

I’ll break it down for you.

Jane the Virgin

Jane’s grandma, Alba, taught Jane from a young age that once your “flower” is crumpled up, it will never be beautiful like it was before. So Jane is a virgin. BUT she accidentally gets artificially inseminated with a stranger’s sperm. It’s a great springboard for a telenovela. There’s some murder too, which always excites things. Also, basically every episode ends with a cliffhanger—so be prepared for binge-watching. (You won’t be able to help yourself.) Here’s a promo trailer for an episode from season 1:

Devious Maids

These maids don’t just clean houses; they solve crimes. This show is full of love, murder, and cliffhangers. I just can’t get enough. Each season is amazing. Did I mention that there are murders? Here are some “Best One-Liners” from season 1:

Telenovela

Eva Longoria stars in this comedy about what goes on behind the scenes of a telenovela. It’s a good ole comedy in which people’s lives are crazy and everyone’s dramatic. It’s just wonderful. Here’s the trailer for season 1:

 

If you love some drama and flavor in your life, these are your shows. Happy binge-watching.

Leave a Reply

