The First Steps To Overcoming Perfectionism

If you’re a perfectionist, you probably already know it. You like things to be “just so”—so you’ll work hard to get a 4.0, or you’ll get mad at yourself if you’re late for a class. There’s no room for messing up because that’s not in the equation.

The perfection equation: (I do everything perfectly) + (I don’t make mistakes) = I am PERFECTION!!!

So obviously there’s something wrong with this equation. There’s no way that you’ll be able to do everything perfectly, and there’s absolutely no way to not make mistakes. And really, if you go around shouting “I AM PERFECTION,” you probably won’t make many friends.

My name is Jesse, and I’m a perfectionist in recovery.

Screen Shot 2016-05-19 at 6.46.44 PM

I used to think that perfectionism was only good. Because I pushed myself in every aspect, I was successful in school, and I was the star child. I did what I was told, and I did what was expected. Somehow, I was able to figure out how to shimmy my way through the perfection equation with a little effort.

Then, one day I realized that because of the situation I was in, I couldn’t meet my goals, and I couldn’t perform as expected. It was a hard reality, which led me into what I call a downward-spiral. My thoughts became more and more negative until I was diagnosed with situational depression. I ended up in counseling, trying to figure out what was wrong with me. The answer is that there are quite a few things that are wrong with me, but what had led to my depression? The overarching reason appeared to be my perfectionism. Perfectionism was what was wrong with me.

Because I hadn’t been able to meet the expectations of others (whether or not they thought they were projecting expectations), I was upset. My whole life had been about being the perfect child and perfect student and perfect whatever-the-role-was. And suddenly I wasn’t the perfect anything. It was a hard realization—that I couldn’t be perfect.

It may seem obvious, but I learned that I was mortal, and as a consequence of that, I was going to have weaknesses, and I was going to make mistakes.

 

Step 1: Admit You Are Weak And You Make Mistakes.

The next step was one I learned in a book by Wendy Ulrich (who has a Ph.D. and an M.B.A. #nbd) called Weakness Is NOT Sin. She talks about how we should look at personal development as a journey. At first, I wasn’t convinced. How was I just supposed to be okay with things not being perfect? But like any good self-help book, this idea was repeated over and over again. Until finally, I understood it and believed it.

 

Step 2: See Life As A Journey.

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 12.30.13 PM

Here’s a little taste of what’s in this book

 

For almost two years now, I’ve been trying to think of my progression as a journey. I can’t be perfect right now, but the little things I do each day can eventually make me perfect. I’ve since learned that the word “perfect” isn’t about the type of “perfect” that we usually think of: “Having all the required or desirable elements, qualities, or characteristics; as good as it is possible to be.” Rather, the word “perfect” means to be “whole” or “complete.”

In the Bible, in Matthew 5:46, it says, “Be ye therefore perfect, even as your Father which is in heaven is perfect.” I used to fret over that idea and beat myself up over every little mistake because of that scripture. Then someone taught me that the Greek translation of the word “perfect” is “whole”—and not the definition that we normally associate with the word “perfect.” And then I understood that life is a journey.

We don’t have to be perfect right this instant. Perfection—wholeness—comes with time. I’ll get there eventually, but for now, I’ll just try to do the best I can on my journey.

One thought on “The First Steps To Overcoming Perfectionism

  1. Juli Hoffman says:

    Perfectionism is such a vicious companion! It tells you that you’re not enough, that if you JUST do this, this, and THIS…then MAYBE you’ll finally have it all figured out, that you’ll be happy. Perfection is horsey poo-poo! Happiness and perfectionism do NOT walk hand-in-hand. Happiness is its own thing. You can do everything right, and still not be happy. Been there. Done that. Got the t-shirt! LOL

    You can be happy when things are going wrong. You can be miserable when things are going right. But, from my experience, hiding behind perfectionism, is fear. I set impossible standards for myself, then wonder why depression knocks me on my tushie when I don’t live up to what I think I should be able to do. Everything comes crashing down. When I recognize the fear hiding behind the perfectionism, I can do things to change my behavior. When I hear the judgement police whining inside my head, not good enough, not smart enough, never enough, I can use logic to ask, “Where is this coming from? Seriously! Is this true?” Sometimes, it’s tough. It FEELS true at the time.

    I am a work in progress. My fear and perfectionism are like a disease. I don’t think I’ll ever be “cured.” It took me a long time to figure this out, but I’m okay with who I am, flaws and all. I’m more functional than I was, stronger than I used to be, but I’ll NEVER be perfect. That’s okay.

    As far as being whole? I like to think of wholeness like a water balloon. You can have various amounts of water in you and still be a whole water balloon. There’s no such thing as half a water balloon. You can have an empty balloon, but then it’s NOT a water balloon anymore. It’s just an empty balloon. You pop it. But again…not a water balloon anymore. You can’t hold onto half of a water balloon. There’s either water in there, or there’s not. Simple. With this thought in mind, I think you’re already whole. Maybe it’s hard to accept that, maybe you don’t like where you’re at in life at this moment, but I think you are whole. It was difficult for me to come to terms with this concept when I was figuring this all out, but once I did…things began to improve. I’m a whole person! YAY!!!!!!!!! That’s reality.

    When I was searching for perfection, and even for wholeness, I was miserable. I wasn’t searching for reality. I was looking for something that didn’t exist. Feeling like a failure the entire time. Thinking that I couldn’t be loved for who I am. Worrying about stuff that was out of my hands.

    You don’t know me. I don’t know you. Even still… I think you’re okay. I know I’m okay. I’ve fought depression for years. Sometimes I feel better. Sometimes I don’t want to get out of bed. But deep down, I know that I’ll get through the bad times. I always do.

    You’re on a journey? Cool! We’re all on a journey. We all walk at our own pace. That’s okay, too. 🙂 You don’t need to run or sprint, but you can if you want to. You can skip or do cartwheel. Again…it’s okay.

    Be good to yourself. Love yourself for who you are, right now, unconditionally. And kick depression’s butt whenever you can! xo Juli

    Like

Leave a Reply

