I Love Man-Repellent And Why You Should Too

Well world, I’ve done something I vowed to never do: join Pinterest. I just began my internship as a Style Guru for College Fasionista, and as part of that internship, I had to join Pinterest. But it’s cool; I’ll learn something new.

So I made a Pinterest and figured that I should pin something (and try not to get addicted in the process—which is why I hadn’t ever joined before). Of course I had to make a clothes board that included outfits worn by Mindy Kaling as Mindy Lahiri. That’s when I saw a pin from the Huffington post entitled, “Mindy Kaling, ‘The Mindy Project’ Star, Is A True Man Repeller When It Comes To Style.” Two of my favorite things in one sentence: Mindy Kaling and style? Obviously I had to read it.

Screen Shot 2016-05-26 at 5.50.03 PM

The article was written in 2012, but it was so relevant to my life that I didn’t even care that it was no longer “newsworthy.” Basically Mindy says that she wears sequins, and men don’t like sequins. If you know anything about me, you know that I LOVE sequins…so I guess I like man-repellent too.

The article quotes Mindy saying, “These are all the things, by the way, that I love, so the overlap in the Venn diagram of things that men hate for women to wear, and things that I love to wear, is almost full overlap … which is unfortunate for me.” So I decided to make a venn diagram to show how I fit into this venn diagram as well.

Mindy Venn

After reading this article, I decided that I wanted to do an “unscientific” study of my own. So I hopped on Facebook and asked people what they thought of sequins. I added a picture just in case the men were confused about what a sequins was. (I once had a whole conversation with 3 males about what a sequins was. None of them knew the word. After I explained what it was, there was still some confusion.)

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.13.41 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.14.01 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.14.20 PM

Screen Shot 2016-05-20 at 11.14.38 PM

As the “research” shows, most men do not in fact like sequins. BUT I will not desist. Actually, talking and reading about sequins just filled me with the insatiable desire to wear sequins. SO I DID!!!

All Photos - 4 of 6

All Photos - 3 of 6

Surprisingly two males commented positively on my sequins the next day. One said, “Wow! You’ve out-dressed us all! I like your shiny skirt!” The other said, “Look at that gold skirt! It’s nice.” So you never know. But it seems that the general consensus is a nay. It’s cool though because I don’t dress for men! I dress for myself.

Speaking of other man repellent, before I even read this article, my roommate deemed this as my man-repellent sweatshirt:

All Photos - 1 of 1 (2)

My sweatshirt says, “Food before dudes: a man ain’t nothin that a fry can’t fix.”

It’s just so funny…and it was created by one of my favorite Facebook public figures: Chris Crocker. Here’s the video that inspired this sweatshirt:

 

I love men, but I also love my sequins. You should love man-repellent because you’ll look fabulous. Also, I get lots of compliments from both men and women on my man-repellent sweatshirt. So if you want to be cool, go buy some man-repellent.

2 thoughts on “I Love Man-Repellent And Why You Should Too

  1. Anonymous says:

    70s Elvis loved sequins. In fact men in the 70s generally thought sequins were OK. Part of the reason why we hate them now. Nothing to do with women wearing them, everything to do with men wearing them.

    Like

Leave a Reply

